The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization welcomed the deposit of the instrument of accession of Sudan to the Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks on November 16, 2009. The Madrid Protocol will enter into force in the country on February 16, 2010. The Protocol currently has a total of 81 contracting member states. Member states from the Arab region include: Bahrain (in force as of December 15, 2005), Egypt (in force as of September 3, 2009), Morocco (in force as of October 8, 1999), Oman (in force as of October 16, 2007), and Syria (in force as of August 5, 2004).

Should you have any questions, or require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us at